Wartburg starts 10-event Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum

On 7 February 2019 by admin

By: Tim Whitfield

Wartburg becomes the centre of attention for KwaZulu-Natal off-road riders and runners on Saturday when the country’s richest mountain biking and trail running series kicks off in the tiny KZN Midlands village.

The 62km Illovo Wartburg MTB Marathon and 14km Wartburg Build it Trail Run are the opening events in the lucrative Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum, and are traditionally seen by riders and runners as the beginning of the competitive year in the province.

Last year Andrew Johnson used the Wartburg event as the springboard to compete for the overall Quattro ROAG Series MTB title and the points he gained there for the Grand Prix-style competition went a long way towards his third position overall at the end of the season.

In the women’s series, Andrea de Boer’s victory in Wartburg was directly responsible for her sharing overall first place with Christie-Leigh Hearder and thus splitting the R25 000 first prize. At the end of the season the two ended on equal points and the tiebreaking rules meant her win in the opening event of the series was needed to secure the tie.

The Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum is not only the richest MTB series in the country, but is also believed to offer the biggest prizemoney of any trail running series in the country. Last year Nomore Mandivengerei was a runaway winner in the men’s category, while Sarah Gray edged into the lead at the final event to claim the women’s title from Wendy Mills, the winner of the Wartburg leg of the series.

Started in 2012, the ten-event Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum now offers R25 000 prize money for both the winning male and female athletes in the mountain biking category, and R10 000 for the top trail runners in both men’s and women’s classes. The series also rewards the top three in all age categories in both the MTB and trail running series with a total prize fund of R190 000.

A rider’s top six results count toward series standings.

The Wartburg event is always a highlight on the calendar for riders with their beautiful forest trails providing kilometres of single track and some spectacular views over the Mgeni Valley. The track is always well-prepared to ensure maximum enjoyment for the riders. The Wartburg events also pioneered the dual- and even in some places triple-single track concept to ensure riders do not get stuck behind slower riders in tight, twisty single track sections.

The course is designed by the local riders and contains a combination of short, sharp climbs, a vast variety of technical sections and undulating forest and cane roads which make the event an all-round test of skill, speed and fitness.

Pre-entries are via www.roag.co.za and close at midnight on February 6, with late entries accepted on the day at the start/finish at the Wartburg Kirchdorf School Fields from 5am to 9am.

We are excited to announce that the following events mentioned below will form part of the 2019 Quattro ROAG Series Powered by Momentum.

Event Date Venue
Illovo Wartburg MTB & Trail Run 09 February 2019 Wartburg Kirchdorf School
Kamberg Classic 30-31 March 2019 Glengarry, Kamberg
Husqvarna Mid Illovo Classic 28 April 2019 Gwahumbe Game & Spa
Sugar Rush Classic 12 May 2019 Sugar Rush Park, Ballito
Sappi Karkloof Classic Trail Festival 01 -02 June 2019 Karkloof Country Club
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Challenge 29 -30 June 2019 Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Resort
Sappi Scottburgh 20 – 21 July 2019 Scottburgh Main Beach
Illovo Eston MTB Challenge 04 August 2019 Beaumont Eston Farmers Club
Harburg Tour de Krantz 17 August 2019 Harburg Hall
Safire Baynesfield MTB & Trail 15 September 2019 Baynesfield Recreational Club


Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook