‘Three Musketeers’ ride to victory again

On 28 November 2019 by admin

By: Tim Whitfield

KZN mountain biking’s “Three Musketeers” once again led the way in the Safire Baynesfield MTB and Trail on Sunday. In the 65km race which wrapped up the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum, Stuart Marais claimed victory ahead of Andrew Hill and then Tyronne White for the third time in four weekends.

Marais eased to victory in a time of 2:22:23 to end up just over a minute ahead of Hill with White almost three minutes further back. The positions are identical to the recent Mandela Day MTB Dash at the end of September and last weekend’s GO! Durban 100.

The result did not change the top of the standings of the Quattro ROAG Series with White already sure of claiming the biggest prize for a mountain bike series after dominating events earlier in the season.

However, Hill was able to move up to second overall in the series with his runner-up finish on Sunday giving him enough points to slip ahead of Andrew Johnson, who did not race in Baynesfield. Marais did not complete the required number of series races during the season to qualify for a series finish.

The women’s series saw a minor change at the top of the table with Christie Hearder claiming the race win at Baynesfield, which also allowed her to end the season with a maximum 600 points from her best six results.

As for most of this season, Hearder was dominant winner on Sunday and her time of 2:55:19 was a massive 22 minutes clear of Andrea de Boer and Nadine Nunes, who finished second and third respectively but were credited with the same time.

In the tightly-contested trail running series, Nomore Mandivengerei secured the win in Baynesfield which ensured he kept his narrow lead in the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum. Linda Zondi, who needed to win with Mandivengerei outside the top three to claim the series title, ended second and also finished the season-long Grand Prix-style competition in second place.

Mdu Zondi slipped to third overall on the series after finishing fourth behind Khayalethu Nzala on Sunday.

In the women’s trail running, Nokukhanya Memela was the winner on Sunday and that allowed her to move up to second overall behind Sarah Gray, who was the runner up at Baynesfield. Apiwe Gaga, who did not take part on Sunday, slipped to third on the series standings.

The Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum offers the biggest prizes for any mountain bike and trail running series in the country and the top competitors will receive their rewards at the prizegiving ceremony on October 26.

Race Results

MTB 65km

1 Stuart Marais 2:22:23
2 Andrew Hill 2:23:37
3 Tyronne White 2:26:15
4 Keagan Matthews 2:32:59
5 Dean van Dyk 2:35:28
6 Willie van Eck 2:36:05
7 Luke Chambers 2:36:30
8 Sthembiso Masango 2:36:51
9 Nhlanhla Mthembu 2:36:57
10 Michael Rowland 2:38:32

1 Christie Hearder 2:55:19
2 Andrea De Boer 3:17:04
3 Nadine Nunes 3:17:04
4 Jean Hackland 3:21:45
5 Brenda Potts 3:23:29
6 Ilse Longmore 3:25:49
7 Belinda Mason 3:29:06

Trail Run 10km

1 Nomore Mandivengerei 0:34:05
2 Linda Zondi 0:34:50
3 Khayalethu Nzala 0:35:08
4 Mdu Zondi 0:36:43
5 Carel Le Roux 0:43:12

1 Nokukhanya Memela 0:43:49
2 Sarah Gray 0:45:05
3 Patricia Dammann 0:47:18
4 Yolande Boshoff 0:48:14
5 Liana Van Rooyen 0:55:53

12 September

Trail runners battle to the finish

The prestigious Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum wraps up this weekend with mountain bikers and trail runners getting their final chance to collect points in Baynesfield just outside Pietermaritzburg on Sunday.

While Tyronne White and Christie Hearder have secured the R25 000 first prizes in the mountain biking portion of the series, the Safire Baynesfield event is likely to see a massive battle for the overall men’s trail running title.

In the men’s mountain biking, White’s brilliant season is highlighted by the face he already has a perfect 600-point score from his best six series results this year and he cannot improve his total or be caught by those scrapping for the final two podium positions.

Hearder is almost as impressive with five wins and a second as her best six results. Her results over the year so far means if she is the top women on Sunday she will join White with a perfect 600-points score for the series.

The women’s trail running title has also been wrapped up by Sarah Gray who has 572 points, while Apiwe Gaga on 482 has second-position secured regardless of this weekend’s results.

However, there is plenty to run for in the men’s trail running section with the continuation of the season-long battle between defending champion and series leader Nomore Mandivengerei and his nearest chasers, Mdu Zondi and Linda Zondi.

Mandivengerei (458 points from six races) is just 43 points ahead of Mdu Zondi (415 from best six of nine races) with Linda Zondi (390 from five) deceptively far behind in third. Linda Zondi only has five results counting which means a win will add the full 100 points to his total. If he wins the single track-laden 10km race on Sunday, Mandivengerei will need to finish second to retain his title.

Mdu Zondi is also in with a shot at the overall title, but even if he wins he will need his namesake to finish outside the top two and Mandivengerei must end up far down the order.

The Safire Baynesfield MTB and Trail taks place at the Baynesfield Club with mountain bikers having the choice of the long 65km event, or shorter 45km, 20km or 10km while trail runners can take part in the 10k or 5km runs.

This event is always considered to be one of the best-organised events on the KZN calendar with riders and runners able to enjoy a mix of forest running and riding with some district road sections and lots of purpose-built single track. A highlight is a section of narrow, winding single track near the finish which takes competitors through some riverine forests.

After the completion of the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum, the top competitors will receive their rich rewards at the prizegiving ceremony on October 26. The series offers the biggest prizes for a mountain bike and trail running series in the country.

(only best six results count)
1 Tyronne White 600pts (9 events)
2 Andrew Johnson 440 (7)
3 Andrew Hill 366 (5)
4 Mazwi Smimango 251 (6)
5 Carl Adendorff 248 (7)
6 Jedson Tooms 246 (7)
7 Dean Van dyk 245 (7)
8 Brad Thompson 222 (7)
9 Thomas Cheatle 167 (6)
10 Ernest Franzsen 165 (5)

1 Christie Hearder 586 (7)
2 Brenda Potts 413 (7)
3 Nadine Nunes 388 (6)
4 Debrah Thomas 368 (8)
5 Belinda Mason 309 (8)
6 Isabel Moolman 235 (5)
7 Ilse Longmore 231 (5)
8 Tarryn Morgan 220 (5)
9 Wendy Corkin 218 (7)
10 Donna Winter 211 (5)

Trail Run
1 Nomore Mandivengerei 458 (6)
2 Mdu Zondi 415 (9)
3 Linda Zondi 390 (5)
4 Carel Le Roux 274 (6)
5 Neil Mackenzie 173 (8)

1 Sarah Gray 572 (7)
2 Apiwe Gaga 482 (6)
3 Patricia Dammann 358 (6)
5 Hayley Mackinnon 222 (5)
6 Karen Maiden 199 (7)

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook