Marais, Hearder, Gray and Le Roux claim Roag Series titles

On 11 November 2020 by admin

By: Tim Whitfield

THE richest mountain biking and trail running series in South Africa wraps up this weekend when the final two events end a disjointed 2020 Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum.

On Saturday and Sunday, trail runners and mountain bikers respectively will compete for the final points on offer in the Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Classic Challenge. On Sunday the competitive window closes for the semi-virtual Sappi Karkloof Classic Challenge which has been taking place over the past three weekends at the Karkloof Country Club.

With just two events remaining, the top places have been decided in the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum with Stuart Marais and Christie Hearder both sitting in unbeatable positions in the MTB standings, while Carel le Roux and Sarah Gray will be crowned as the trail running champions for 2020.

For the top mountain bikers, Saturday has been designated as the “racing day” at Karkloof and all the elite riders will race together for the overall 60km title. Sunday’s MTB event at the scenic Drakensberg Gardens resort provides the final racing date for the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum and the 40km should see some closely-contested action as riders fight for the minor placings in the series.

Marais (Team NanoTime), with four wins and second position from the seven events so far has 486 points from his best five results in the men’s MTB and has the title secured. The chasing pack of Tyronne White (DriveTrain Academy), Andrew Hill (TIB Insurance) and Brendan van Eeden (Absolute Motion) on 398, 396 and 363 points respectively, are desperately contesting the remaining podium positions.

In the women’s MTB, Christie Hearder (Absolute Motion) has 458 points from two wins and a three runner-up spots and also cannot be caught. Once again the chasers are all contenders for a podium place with Nadine Nunes (326 points), Sanchia Malan (315), Belinda Mason (274) and Bronwyn Evans (213) in contention if they can secure some top-position finishes at Karkloof and Drakensberg Gardens.

In the trail running, Carel le Roux is a runaway winner while Sarah Gray, with five wins from the seven events has ensured she will end the series with a maximum of 500 points.

The sports event industry has been decimated in 2020 by the Covid-19 pandemic with many of the ten scheduled events in the series being cancelled after lockdown was introduced in March. The event organisers, ROAG, have managed to make up some of the lost events by introducing virtual and semi-virtual racing.

However, the recent confirmation that the Tour de Krantz would not take place means ROAG have reduced the series to nine events, with the best five results to count for final points. Traditionally the best six out of ten events are used to calculate the final points tally in the Grand Prix-style event.

Latest Standings

(best five results count – standings before Karkloof and Drakensberg Gardens)


1 Stuart Marais 486 points (7 events completed)

2 Tyronne White 398 (7)

3 Andrew Hill 396 (7)

4 Brendan Van Eeden 363 (5)

5 Michael Foster 245 (5)

6 Dean Van Dyk 231 (6)

7 Grant Lavers 194 (5)

8 Brad Thompson 192 (5)

9 Justin Swanepoel 176 (5)

10 Chris Horter 170 (5)

MTB Women

1 Christie-Leigh Hearder 458 (6)

2 Nadine Nunes 326 (5)

3 Sanchia Malan 315 (7)

4 Belinda Mason 274 (7)

5 Bronwyn Evans 213 (5)

Trail Run Men

1 Carel Le Roux 341 (6)

2 John Wasserfall 69 (3)

Trail Run Women

1 Sarah Gray 500 (7)

2 Hayley Mackinnon 341 (7)

3 Karen Maiden 255 (7)

4 Kirsty Scott 228 (3)

5 Alison Wasserfall 207 (4)

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook