Karkloof results confirm Marais, Hearder ROAG Series winner

On 7 December 2020 by admin

By: Tim Whitfield

The last set of results for the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum was finalised this week, which means elite and age category winners for the popular series are confirmed and Stuart Marais, Christie Hearder, Sarah Gray and Carel le Roux can now officially celebrate their 2020 series titles.

The laborious process of checking GPS files and metadata for the semi-virtual Sappi Karkloof Classic trail run and mountain bike events was completed earlier this week and the final results were released, allowing ROAG to confirm their final logs standings.

There were no major changes to the provisional results for the Sappi Karkloof Classic with young gun Brendan van Eeden (Team Absolute Motion) and the experienced international XCO star Cherie Redecker claiming the overall men’s and women’s MTB titles respectively. The top trail runners at Karkloof were Paul Hatfield and Apiwe Gaga respectively.

In the mountain biking, the second place finishes at Karkloof for Marais (NanoTime) and Hearder (Absolute Motion) had little influence on their overall positions in the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum standings as they were guaranteed to be announced the 2020 champions regardless of the positions of that one event.

However, in the battle for the minor placings there was a shuffle of positions and the Karkloof placings were vital to deciding the overall podium for the series. Van Eeden’s three wins in the final three events took him up to second overall and edged last year’s champion, Tyronne White (DriveTrain Academy), into third on the series standings, a mere two points ahead of Andrew Hill (TIB Insurance).

In the women’s standings, Hearder ended nearly 100 points clear of Sanchia Malan, whose fifth position at Karkloof, and runner up spot at Drakensberg Gardens recently, allowed her to ease into second, ahead of Nadine Nunes.

In the trail running, Carel le Roux’s consistency throughout a difficult year was enough for him to claim the overall series title despite finishing fourth at Karkloof. Sarah Gray did not compete at Karkloof, but the defence of her trail running title was never in doubt and she returned a perfect 500 points for the year with five wins during the season.

The Covid restrictions has meant the series organisers, ROAG, will be holding the 2020 prizegiving function early in 2021.

Final Sappi Karkloof results
MTB: 60Km Elite
1 Brendan Van Eeden 2:46:54
2 Stuart Marais 2:56:50
3 Tyronne White 2:58:58
4 Andrew Hill 3:01:09
5 Brad Thompson 3:01:54

1 Cherie Redecker 3:25:50
2 Christie Hearder 3:34:40
3 Belinda Mason 4:08:25
4 Frances Janse van Rensburg 4:15:54
5 Sanchia Malan 4:37:48

Trail Run: 21Km
1 Paul Hatfield 1:59:20
2 David Van Der Veen 2:09:32
3 Kingsley Butterworth 2:14:30
4 Carel Le Roux 2:19:50
5 Grieg Walker 2:25:10

1 Apiwe Gaga 2:09:00
2 Hayley Mackinnon 2:23:32
3 Hayley Walker 2:24:55

Final points for Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum:
Overall Male
1st Stuart Marais 486 points
2nd Brendan Van Eeden 460
3rd Tyronne White 408
4th Andrew Hill 406
5th Michael Foster 304

Overall Female
1st Christie-Leigh Hearder 472
2nd Sanchia Malan 378
3rd Nadine Nunes 326
4th Belinda Mason 306
5th Bronwyn Evans 247

Trail Running
Overall Male
1st Carel Le Roux 401

Overall Female
1st Sarah Gray 500
2nd Hayley Mackinnon 394
3rd Alison Wasserfall 258
4th Karen Maiden 257

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook